Scientific Council

The Global Burden of Disease (GBD) Scientific Council oversees and makes key scientific decisions about the GBD process and methods. The Council is composed of leading experts in fields related to GBD. It is not a substitute for peer review of publications or periodic reviews from independent groups. A summary is available of the Council's decisions for each round of GBD from 2013 to the present.

Read the decision summary

For any questions, please contact the GBD Secretariat at [email protected].


Council Chair: Christopher Murray, IHME

Council Secretary: Kara Estep, IHME



  • Cristiana Abbafati, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Emilie Agardh, Karolinska Institutet
  • Peter Allebeck, Karolinska Institutet
  • Mirza Balaj, Centre for Global Health Inequalities Research (CHAIN); Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Zulfiqar Bhutta, Aga Khan University Medical Center
  • Lalit Dandona, Public Health Foundation of India
  • Mesay Hailu, Ethiopian Public Health Institute
  • Sebastian Haller, Robert Koch Institute
  • Simon Hay, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Guoqing Hu, Central South University in Changsha
  • Ardeshir Khosravi, Ministry of Health and Medical Education; Tehran University of Medical Sciences
  • Ann Kristin Knudsen, Norwegian Institute of Public Health
  • Hmwe Kyu, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Stephen Lim, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Rafael Lozano, National Autonomous University of Mexico; Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Stefan Ma, Singapore Ministry of Health
  • Deborah Carvalho Malta, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais
  • George Mensah, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
  • Lorenzo Monasta, IRCCS Burlo Garofolo Institute for Maternal and Child Health
  • Mohsen Naghavi, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • John Newton, University of Exeter
  • Shuhei Nomura, Keio University; University of Tokyo
  • Liane Ong, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Heather Orpana, Public Health Agency of Canada
  • Tajudeen Raji, Africa CDC
  • Joshua Salomon, Stanford University
  • Inbal Salz, Te Whatu Ora, National Public Health Services, New Zealand
  • Zainab Samad, Aga Khan University
  • Benn Sartorius, University of Oxford; University of Queensland; University of Washington
  • Awoke Misganaw Temesgen, Ethiopian Public Health Institute; Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Roman Topor-Madry, Jagiellonian University Medical College; Agency for Health Technology Assessment and Tariff System
  • Elena Varavikova, Federal Research Institute for Health Organization and Informatics of the Ministry of Health of Russia
  • Stein Emil Vollset, Norwegian Institute of Public Health
  • Theo Vos, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Haidong Wang, World Health Organization
  • Elizabeth Wangia, Kenya Ministry of Health
  • Andrea Werdecker, Federal Institute for Population Research
  • Harvey Whiteford, University of Queensland